2012 Youth Day
Monday, 02 April 2012

SPRINGFIELD, IL  – More than 250 students from the rural areas of Illinois traveled to Springfield on Wednesday, March 28, for the Illinois Electric and Telephone Cooperatives Youth Day.

With rural areas losing population, fewer legislators will be elected to serve downstate, so the need for citizens to take active roles in voting for legislators who have their interests at heart is increasingly important.


“Elected officials enjoy the opportunity to meet with students and learn first-hand their concerns. Many issues debated in the General Assembly personally affect their lives,” said Duane Noland, President and CEO of the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives.

Sen. John Sullivan met with students representing Adams Electric Cooperative and Adams Telephone Co-Operative. The students had an opportunity to view state government in action and question their legislators on key issues. In addition, they heard from both Lt. Governor Sheila Simon and Secretary of State Jesse White. The students also toured the Illinois Supreme Court, the Old State Capitol and the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Museum.


The day was sponsored by the AIEC and is designed to introduce young rural leaders to state government. There were 25 co-ops from across the state represented at the event.


Adams Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy — an alliance of more than 720 local, consumer-owned electric utilities around the country. Adams Electric Cooperative is committed to providing superior service based on four core principles: integrity, accountability, innovation and commitment to community. The co-op serves more than 8,553 meters over 2,223 miles of line in parts of Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike and Schuyler counties. For more information visit www.adamselectric.coop.


Adams Telephone Co-Operative has been serving Western Illinois since 1952 and has evolved into a state-of-the-art telecommunications company. Through its affiliated companies, Adams provides a full range of data, voice and networking services backed by a local fiber optic facility, local and long distance telephone service, dial-up and high-speed Internet access, television programmming and cellular telephone solutions. Adams Telephone Co-Operative serves members in Adams, Brown, Hancock, McDonough, Pike and Schuyler counties. For more information visit www.adams.net.



Pictured from the left are: row 1 – Hannah Cross, Stephanie Dearwester, Kassie Henry, Kirstyn Durazzo and MaKenna Merritt; row 2 – Audrey Zanger, Tyler Ormond, Tyler Clevenger and Stephanie Nelson; row 3 – Montanna Neisen, chaperone Nancy Erlandson, Lucas Watson, Anthony Holtschlag, Kurt Schuster and chaperone Amy Kallenbach; row 4 – Sen. John Sullivan, Michael Sprague, Eduardo Zabala, Zach Fuqua and Emery Gronewold.